Skip to Main Content
Find Books & Articles
Search the Catalog for books, articles, & journals
Search databases individually
INFO & HELP
- For help use this form Contact/Request, text 406-233-9103, or email library@milescc.edu - available daily 9am-8:30pm
- The library is open Mon-Thurs, 7:30am-4:30pm and Fri., 7:30am-4:00pm
- Jerusha Shipstead (library director) - if you text or email, I'll be reaching out to you!
- Mary Strouf (assistant) - is available most days 11am-3:45pm
Arts & Humanities
ArchiveGrid
Search primary source materials from over 1,000 different institutions: archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
CORSAIR
Named after Pierpont Morgan's yacht, CORSAIR is a single database providing unified access to over 250,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects.
DPLA
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Open Library of Humanities
Search peer-reviewed academic articles from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies and digital humanities.
Open Access | Multidisciplinary
BASE academic search engine
One of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BBC Country Profiles
Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
Data USA
Advanced data analytics and visualization tell stories about American places, occupations, industries and education
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
GovInfo
Free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Knoema Free
Knoema is a search engine for data seamlessly connecting public and private sources and making data discoverable and accessible to information workers. Knoema does for data what Google did for websites and the Internet overall. It makes it trivial to find data when you need it and make a story out of it.
OECD Data Explorer
Find data and statistics on topics including Agriculture, Development, Economy, Education, Energy, Environment, Finance, Government, Health, Innovation and Technology, Jobs, and Society.
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
RefSeek Academic
RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than five billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community.We index over 200 million academic papers sourced from publisher partnerships, data providers, and web crawls.
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication. They are subject to high-level peer review, author and production services ensuring quality and reliability of the work.
UNESCO Resources
Access UNESCO publication, statistical, and photobank resources.
World Bank Open Data
Search global health, economy, education, development and environment data. Provided by World Bank Group.
Art Sites
Archives of American Art
With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.
Art Institute of Chicago Collections
Online collection of over 45,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas.
Artsy
Browse and search content from galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions; 350,000 images by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
Clara Database of Women Artists
An interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian
This site provides access to the Smithsonian's online resources. Art topics include African-American art, American art, Chinese art, European art, and Native American art.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels.
Smarthistory
An open art history textbook providing video and audio recordings of art historians discussing different works of art. Users can explore by time, style, artist or theme.
Timeline of Art History from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 27.600 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
